Oh Florida, what a special state. Thanks to our state records being public, Florida finds itself in the news a bit more often than other states - especially when it comes to strange crimes. The Florida Man is known for find wacky ways to break the law, but several of the state's laws are outdated and absurd. Here is a part two to the previous 10 Weird Laws in Florida You Probably Don't Know About.
More often than we should, we hear the unfortunate news of someone being sexually harassed or taken advantage of on a daily bases. Many of these claims involve incidents that occurred decades prior, and some are no longer within the statute of limitations to investigate. In the state of Florida, if the crime of rape isn't reported within 72 hours, a clock with an 8 year timer starts to tick on the ability for the case to be investigated.
If you spend any time reading the news, you're bound to come across a headline or two that starts with "Florida Man..." Yes, Florida is home to some of the kookiest criminals like the guy who tried to give an alligator beer to entice it to bite him or the one who was arrested for assaulting his girlfriend with a piece of fried chicken.
After you're arrested for a crime, the next step is the filing of the information or indictment. In most cases in Florida (except Capital) the police will fill out a standard police report (A-Form) that will be passed on to the State Attorney's Office who will review the case and determine what crimes they will formally charge you with.