There’s a reason Florida is known as the Sunshine State. It is a great place to vacation, retire and even raise a family. However, there are some laws that are important to keep in mind if you want to stay out of trouble.
Florida Laws You Should Know:
DUI threshold: In the state of Florida, the blood-alcohol concentration limit is 0.08%, but drivers under the age of 21 can be charged with only 0.02% percent BAC.
Container law: It is unlawful for an individual to possess an open container of an alcoholic beverage while operating a vehicle or if an individual is a passenger in or on a vehicle being operated.
Texting and driving: People must not text and operate a motor vehicle at the same time. Law enforcement officers can stop motor vehicles and issue citations as a primary offense to people who are texting while driving. This means stopping a vehicle if they suspect they are violating this law.
Comparative fault for injuries: A person´s percentage of fault responsibility determines how much that individual must pay in an injury claim.
Car insurance: In Florida, if a person owns a motor vehicle with four or more wheels, they must carry at least $10,000 of personal injury protection insurance (also known as no-fault insurance).
Divorce requirements: To start a divorce process in Florida, people need to be residents of the state for at least six months.
Marital property division: Florida is an equitable distribution state, which means that the court has the power to decide how property and debts obtained during a marriage should be fairly divided upon divorce.
Statutes of limitation: If an individual is the victim of medical malpractice, they have a maximum of four years to sue. The time limits are different for other civil and criminal cases.
Sexual cyber harassment: An individual who willfully and maliciously posts sexually explicit images of another person without their consent commits a first-degree misdemeanor, which is punishable by up to one year in prison and a $1,000 fine for the first offense.
Minimum wage laws: As of September 30, 2021, the Florida minimum wage is $10.00 per hour.
Living will requirements: In order to create a living will, an individual needs witnesses, and at least one of them must be a non-spouse and non-blood relative.
If you find yourself facing any criminal or family law charges, you need a professional attorney on your side. Russell Spatz, of the Spatz Law Firm, PL has decades of experience handling serious criminal and family law cases. Contact him at 305-442-0200 to discuss your case.