Manslaughter in Florida.
In the state of Florida, a person is said to have committed the crime of manslaughter if they performed actions to kill another, persuaded or influenced another to commit an act of murder through procurement, or a person has acted with complete disregard for the safety and welfare of the public without any lawful justification. Manslaughter can be committed in one of three ways:
- Manslaughter by Act: Occurs when an individual intentionally commits an act that was not excusable or justified that resulted in the death of another individual.
- Manslaughter by Procurement: When a person persuades or influences another to commit an act that results in death.
- Manslaughter by Culpable Negligence: This crime occurs when a person acted negligently, and their negligence resulted in the death of another person.
Manslaughter is generally a felony of the second degree, punishable by up to 15 years in prison, fifteen years probation, and a $10,000 fine. However, there are some instances in which it can be considered a first-degree felony:
- Killing of a protected individual: Protected individuals include the elderly and adults with cognitive or physical disabilities. A person will be charged with aggravated manslaughter if he or she acts recklessly, disregarding other people´s health and safety, and causing the death of an elderly or disabled person.
- Killing a minor by culpable negligence: In the State of Florida, causing the death of a minor by culpable negligence is aggravated manslaughter, considered a first-degree felony.
- The killing of a protected worker: When someone causes (through culpable negligence) the death of a paramedic, firefighter, officer, or emergency medical technician while they are performing duties that are within the course of their employment, the offender is said to have committed aggravated manslaughter.
- Manslaughter with a weapon or firearm: If a person commits manslaughter with a firearm or another deadly weapon, the offender will face first-degree felony charges.
Being charged with manslaughter should never be treated lightly. In fact, it should be handled by an experienced attorney who has the knowledge to protect your rights. If you or a loved one is facing manslaughter charges, contact attorney Russell Spatz to discuss your case. You can contact him at 305-442-0200 or online.