Back in May of 2019, it was announced that a new Florida law was passed regarding texting and driving. Due to the passing of this bill, law enforcement was given the ability to pull over drivers who are caught texting while their car is in motion. Though the law has been in place for several months, as of January 1st, law enforcement has officially begun ticketing drivers who break the new rule.
What Exactly Does The New Texting While Driving Law State?
According to Section 316.305 of Florida States, law enforcement is allowed to stop motor vehicles and issue citations to those who are texting while driving. This means if the vehicle is moving, the operator may not manually use their phone. Texting while stopped at a light or in a running parked vehicle is allowed. However, these devices are not allowed to be used in work or school zones with active construction personnel or school zone crossings.
What Happens if You’re Caught Texting and Driving?
First Offense: A non-moving traffic violation with a base $30 fine, not including additional court costs or other fees, and no points assessed against the driver license.
Second Offense: Within five years is a moving traffic violation, with a base $60 fine, not including court costs and other fees, and 3 points assessed against the driver license.
Any Offense in a school or work zone: A moving traffic violation, with a base $60 fine, not including court costs and other fees, and 3 points assessed against the driver license.
If you or someone you know has found themselves on the wrong side of the law, an experienced criminal defense lawyer can help make the process smoother. Russell Spatz has decades of experience in all aspects of criminal law in the state of Florida. Give him a call today at (305) 442-0200 to see how he can help you.
“Put It Down: Focus on Driving.” Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, https://www.flhsmv.gov/safety-center/driving-safety/distracted-driving/.