Driving while under the influence should always be avoided, but with a holiday like the Fourth of July coming up, it's good to be reminded about the dangers of drunk driving. Around the holidays, no matter how big or small the celebration is, party goers tend to consume a bit more alcohol than usual increasing the chances of getting behind the wheel while intoxicated.
Driving under the influence is a fairly serious crime that can not only be dangerous to yourself and those around you but can also result in criminal charges and even jail time. Everyone knows that driving a car while intoxicated can lead to a DUI arrest, but there are several other ways one can be charged with a DUI that you may not realize.
It's the time of year where champagne is flowing, celebrations are happening, and holiday parties are frequent. While it's never a good idea to drink and drive, once the holidays roll around the chances of a DUI become greater. Thanks to ride-sharing apps like Uber and Lyft it's become much easier to avoid drunk driving and DUIs all together.
Everyone knows driving while under the influence is not only very dangerous, but it's also illegal. However, with new technology like autopilot and semi-autonomous vehicles, the line between drunk driving and being responsible starts to blur. The honest answer to the question of whether or not one can be charged with a DIU while using one of these vehicles is: yes, you can almost certainly receive a DUI if you attempt to ride in a self-driving vehicle while intoxicated or impaired.
Alcohol Responsibility Month is in April, but it should be every month when you consider the harm that can be done when someone over indulges. Not only do you put yourself at risk when you abuse alcohol, but you can also put friends, family, and strangers in harm's way. Because of the need to drink and enjoy alcohol in a responsible manner, Responsibility.org has made a campaign out of alcohol responsibility, as opposed to awareness, for the month of April.
New Year's Eve is a night of celebrations, resolutions, and usually a champagne toast. While it's easy to get carried away with all the partying that happens on the 31st of December, now is a good time to start thinking about how you will get home safely.
In previous posts, we laid out the consequences you may face if you are convicted of a first and second DUI. If you are pulled over and facing your third DUI, the stakes are raised significantly, especially if you are convicted of your third within 10 years of any of your prior DUIs. In the state of Florida, a third DUI within 10 years of any prior DUI is considered a third-degree felony. Here are some of the punishments that you may face if you are convicted of a third DUI.
In one of our previous blog posts, we covered 5 Things to Know for Your First DUI, which gave you an idea of what to expect if you are going through the process of being accused of a DUI for the first time. In this article, we will go over four types of punishments you should expect if you are convicted of a second DUI offense.
In 2010 John Goodman, founder of International Polo Club Palm Beach in Wellington, was convicted of the DUI manslaughter of a University of Central Florida student named Scott Patrick Wilson. He was sentenced to 16 years in prison upon conviction, but has filed to have his case appealed based on the evidence of his blood alcohol level.
Drinking and driving is an offense some of us tend to take for granted until we get pulled over. What constitutes a DUI? According to the Florida Department of Highway Safety, it's when it is found that the operator of the vehicle is proven to be impaired beyond the legal limit, via breathalyzer, of a blood alcohol content (BOA) of 0.08 or greater. Knowing what makes you at risk for a DUI is important, to be sure, but what sort of charges are you facing?